Yogibana weaves yoga and ikebana together in 12 steps...taught over 12 steps in a 60 minute period...Each themed lesson covers a wide range of ikebana and yoga practices and the implications of such practices on entrepreneurship.
— Mona Anita K. Olsen

Yogibana is an artistic wellness concept fueled by the weaving of yoga and ikebana (Japanese style floral design) together in 12 steps. Yogibana can be enjoyed by anyone in any location in 12 steps. This innovative concept is a fusion of the arts, design, hospitality & wellness practices, and entrepreneurship.

Created by Dr. Mona Anita K. Olsen in 2018 at Innovation Barn in Norway, Yogibana launched its first classes in Ithaca, New York at Cornell University. Olsen is an Assistant Professor of Entrepreneurship at the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business. She is also a registered Holy Yoga Instructor and a Sogetsu ikebana enthusiast in pursuit of her teaching certification. Initially aimed at addressing the social constructs around addiction in a variety of forms and aiming to improve mobility in seniors, Yogibana has implications for a variety of groups. Yogibana has been taught on Cornell University’s campus in the arts community, to the public in the Ithaca community, and in social entrepreneurship courses at Cornell University. Yogibana also launched in Norway in collaboration with Innovation Barn.

Each Yogibana session has a theme that is taught over 12 steps in a 60 minute period. There are currently 12 lessons developed and they can be offered over a 12 week period, a 12 hour period, or a 12 month period. Each lesson covers a wide range of ikebana and yoga practices and the implications of such practices on entrepreneurship. The ideal group size is 12 students.

Ikebana is the Japanese art of flower arrangement. It invites you to meditate by focusing your awareness on the technical and creative task at hand. It is a journey that leads to inner stillness and a more graceful state of mind, transcending the sensory beauty of the flowers themselves. Ikebana symbolically explores the connections between humanity, the natural world, and the heavens.

We can learn a lot from flowers. Just like our lives, the flower’s life cycle is short, and understanding this helps us set our priorities straight. We are able to release our attachments and aversions to complete a sense of fulfillment. Entrepreneurs wear a lot of “hats” and deal with a constant barrage of issues. Each day’s tasks and priorities are often a jumbled mess that changes as new emergencies and developments arise. To be successful, entrepreneurs must stop focusing on what is urgent and prioritize what is most important.

On the other hand, yoga is an ascetic discipline widely practiced for health, calmness, and relaxation; yoga includes breath control, simple meditation, and specific bodily postures. It encourages you to relax, slow your breath, and focus on the now. It slows down the mental loops of frustration, regret, anger, fear, and desire and helps get rid of the constant thoughts roaming in our heads

Yogibana teaches us that we need to be willing to change when needed. Yogibana embraces the idea that we are provided with resources in our mind, body, spirit and ecosystem that can be used to weave beautiful creations on life’s journey, regardless of philosophical persuasions. Yogibana is based on the idea that “the goal in life is to be flexible enough to bend with the wind without breaking, and strong enough to move with the tide without being swept away.”


 Yogibana was built in alignment with the core teaching values of active-learning, reflection, and community.

Yogibana was built in alignment with the core teaching values of active-learning, reflection, and community.

 Yogibana connects yoga, ikebana, and entrepreneurship.

Yogibana connects yoga, ikebana, and entrepreneurship.

 Connecting all elements of the university ecosystem with the local entrepreneurial community.

Connecting all elements of the university ecosystem with the local entrepreneurial community.


Current and future partners allow us to bring Yogibana to a variety of different groups and provide inspiration for future applications.

Inspirational Artists for Yogibana


Online Ikebana Classes:

Ikebana.be at https://ecourses.ikebana.be/p/ikebana-a-journey.

Ikebana, Yoga, Addiction, Conscious Innovation and Mindfulness Articles and Venues for Inspiration:

Ikebanalab at http://ikebanalab.com/.

Ikebana Meditation at http://ikebanaweb.com/ikebana-meditation/.

Ikebana VR at http://ikebana-vr.jp/.

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) at https://www.drugabuse.gov/.

Shatterproof at https://www.shatterproof.org/.

Vipassana Meditation at https://www.dhamma.org/en-US/about/art.

Mindful at https://www.mindful.org/author/daniel-siegel/.

Origami Tulip at https://www.origamiway.com/easy-origami-tulip.shtml.

12 Step Program at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twelve-step_program.

Freakebana: The New, Ugly-Cool Style of Arranging Flowers. It’s pronounced “freak-eh-ba-na.” from The Cut at https://www.thecut.com/2017/11/freakebana-the-new-ugly-cool-style-of-arranging-flowers.html.

The Rise of Modern Ikebana from the New York Times at https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/06/t-magazine/ikebana-japanese-flower-art.html?emc=eta1.

Napping in a New York Minute at https://www.nytimes.com/2018/03/29/nyregion/napping-in-a-new-york-minute.html.

Uniting Healthcare and Community: The Healthy Mix at http://www.gensleron.com/cities/2017/3/28/uniting-healthcare-and-community-the-healthy-mix.html.

Stickwork by Patrick Dougherty at http://www.stickwork.net/about/.

Math + Good Posture= Better Scores at https://neurosciencenews.com/math-score-posture-9656/.

50 Rules of Sogetsu at http://ikebanabeautiful.com/50-rules-sogetsu-ikebana/.

Sogetsu DC at http://sogetsudc.org/.

The Art League (Ikebana Arranger Tone Olsen) at https://www.theartleague.org/blog/2018/05/03/qa-with-ikebana-arranger-tone-olsen/.

Yoga Artists and Concepts for Inspiration:

Holy Yoga: https://holyyoga.net/.

12YSR: https://y12sr.com/.

12YSR Intensive Online Training: https://yogainternational.com/ecourse/y12sr

Vetra Fitness: http://vetrafitness.com/.

Jenni Sol Yoga: http://www.jennisolyoga.com/.

Blackbird Studio: https://blackbirdithaca.com/.

YogaLista: https://www.facebook.com/annhelensyoga.

Jogo Living (Yoga by Pooneh): https://www.jogoliving.com/yoga-by-pooneh/.

The Pilates Room & Antigravity Studio: http://www.nypilates.info/.

 

14:30 (Start to view for ma)